1 of 9
Hell as a Threat
Posted: 05 March 2011 11:21 AM   [ Ignore ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  31
Joined  2011-03-05

I’m a 20something college student, and everywhere i look, I seem to be drowning in Jesus.

I think I’ve found the most offensive thing someone has said to me—mocking that I’d be tortured in hell for eternity. I really can’t tolerate anything like this ever again, I’ve had people talk at me before about their religious views, but putting a threat against me of eternal torture is the most ballsy and offensive thing I’ve heard.

Gods are proxy for most believers, they can shift blame to them for life happenings like a child blaming the cat for knocking over the flowerpot. Just like an agitated parent, I’m not going to accept this proxy anymore. I’ve decided to take this no less than a personal threat, as if someone we’re mugging me or threatening me with a knife. I don’t believe in your gods, that means that when your outspoken beliefs threaten my personal safety and comfort, I’m pointing at you for the blame.

Just because you believe in gods doesn’t give you a free pass to be an ass.

I’m going to start choking up on the bat too. People who use their religion as an excuse for something that affects other people (You know, like people I’ve found on this forum)—I’m going to treat them like I’d treat any other religious extremist—Like a Psychopath with a bomb.

Has anyone else gone through this?

Posted: 05 March 2011 12:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  151
Joined  2010-08-01
Scndthe2nd - 05 March 2011 11:21 AM

I’m a 20something college student, and everywhere i look, I seem to be drowning in Jesus.