1 of 8
I am doing research for a critical thinking paper.
Posted: 20 April 2011 05:37 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  16
Joined  2011-04-20

Hello, I am a student doing research for a paper for a critical thinking class on the views of Atheists/secularist on Capital Punishment. I need your help if you could spare 5 minutes to answer the following questions.

1 Do you support Capital punishment or not?

2 Why or why not?

Does your atheism help guide your thinking on capital punishment? If so, how?

Also, I am looking for papers written about secularist/ atheist view on capital punishment. I have searched on the internet but I am not finding any thing of substance. I cannot use blogs for my research. I am looking for journal articles or web sites; .org .edu.

Thank you very much for your help!

Best,

Alpheia

[ Edited: 20 May 2011 11:59 AM by Alpheia ]

Posted: 20 April 2011 10:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5551
Joined  2010-06-16

I doubt that atheistic beliefs have much relationship to beliefs about capital punishment.  I’ve known some atheists who were strongly against and some who were strongly in favor of capital punishment.  For myself, I’m strongly against capital PUNISHMENT but I’m for population control by removing severe societal offendors from the population, including preventing them from using any resources society produces and possibly contributing as fertilizer.  LOL

Occam

Signature 

Succinctness, clarity’s core.

Posted: 20 April 2011 10:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Total Posts:  7571
Joined  2007-03-02