1 of 3
Dr. Oz - One of the most dangerous men on TV
Posted: 04 May 2011 08:01 PM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2013
Joined  2007-04-26

Well I’ve been gone a while. Too many real life distractions the past 2 years, but after seeing a recent episode of Dr. Oz ( which i had to watch after the promo aired “Why is your doctor so afraid of alternative medicine”) I had to rant.

Being a physician I have heard things from patients over the years about Oz that made me question this mans intelligence and wonder if he was actually an MD. As time went on i caught clips of some of his shows or short interviews on the news ( he seems to be everywhere). What he does is truly disheartening. To see the complete disrespect for science that is displayed by a traditionally trained physician with a national audience is frightening.

The recent episode included a physician who has a blog denouncing a lot of alternative medicine. He also had on a physician who believes in alternative treatments in a false attempt to make his presentation look even handed. It was anything but.  He stacked the deck by positioning a woman in the audience who runs a web site for alternative medicine information and Oz himself is clearly a strong supporter of alternative treatments which made his role as moderator comical. He was down right dismissive of the physician who didnt agree with him and his disrespect for the scientific method was disgraceful coming from a physician.