4 of 7
Research Into The Weird, Pointless, And Just Plain Silly
Posted: 18 July 2011 11:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 46 ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5551
Joined  2010-06-16
Chris Crawford - 18 July 2011 10:51 AM

Well, I do “damn well know” that you wrote 24 hours ago:

I created this thread to have a good natured laugh at some of the weirder, goofier things conducted under the aegis of Science.

and, unless you don’t have a good grasp of the precise meaning of “aegis”, that sentence constitutes a pretty generalized denigration of science.

Chris, as a retired scientist, I never get offended by D.M.‘s posts because I recognise that they are are essentially always written in jest.  By the way, although you questioned his usage of “aegis”, I’d suggest that you also work toward more precision in your own writings, since, if you read his above sentence carefully you may note the word, “some” which quite effectively refutes your “pretty generalized denigration of science.”

Occam

Signature 

Succinctness, clarity’s core.

Posted: 18 July 2011 11:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 47 ]
Total Posts:  1995
Joined  2008-09-18

Yes, I have no problem laughing at dumb things. But there has been an undercurrent of generalized condemnation of science in Dead Monky’s posts. Perhaps the simplest solution would be for Dead Monky to simply disavow any such interpretation of his writings.

OK, Occam, since you chose to criticize my writing, I’m going to come down hard. (I’m in a foul mood today.) Let’s parse the English, shall we? Here’s the sentence in question:

I created this thread to have a good natured laugh at some of the weirder, goofier things conducted under the aegis of Science.

I can’t do the old-style sentence diagramming here, but Dead Monky says that he wants to have a good-natured laugh at something. Agreed?