1 of 2
Wheat Grass Juice
Posted: 11 July 2011 10:51 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2011-07-11

I was at Booster Juice a month or so ago (for work, I’m a Public Health Inspector) and I saw something that made me wonder. It was a tray of grass. Just that, a tray of green grass, growing on top of the refrigerator. When I asked about it, they showed me the tray. Part of it had been clipped. I asked what it was and they told me it was “Wheat Grass” and that they make Smoothies with it. It’s apparently great for healing and detoxifying. DING DING DING, the warning bells went into overdrive.
They didn’t have any literature, but directed me to their website. Check it out, it’s hilarious. They state it’s more nutritious than 2.5 pounds of green, leafy vegetables. I pressed them on that point and they presented two studies, one that was admittedly small, and poorly blinded and showed minimal effect, the other was for putting the stuff on your feet and IT DIDN’T WORK! Their own literature showed that it didn’t work!
So…I put a complaint in with the Advertising Standards for false health claims. We’ll see how it turns out!

Posted: 11 July 2011 11:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3121
Joined  2008-04-07
PHIGuy - 11 July 2011 10:51 AM

I was at Booster Juice a month or so ago (for work, I’m a Public Health Inspector) and I saw something that made me wonder. It was a tray of grass. Just that, a tray of green grass, growing on top of the refrigerator. When I asked about it, they showed me the tray. Part of it had been clipped. I asked what it was and they told me it was “Wheat Grass” and that they make Smoothies with it. It’s apparently great for healing and detoxifying. DING DING DING, the warning bells went into overdrive.