1 of 2
Secular humanism and the law
Posted: 22 August 2011 11:37 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2011-07-26

If ,contrary to common sense, a secular -humanist group were to register as a religion, would they be allowed the legal perks that other religions are allowed. ie. no property taxes , subsidies for educational instruction etcetera?
    I have no legal background but feel we non-religionists are being discriminated against at all levels , municipal, provincial and federal.
Anyone have any thought as to how one might proceed to test this?

Posted: 23 August 2011 12:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1401
Joined  2010-04-22

Probably. Scientology did it.

Signature 

“All musicians are subconsciously mathematicians.”

- Thelonious Monk

Posted: 25 August 2011 08:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2011-07-26

Thanks—-details would be nice

Posted: 28 August 2011 10:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Total Posts:  1283
Joined  2011-03-12

Anyone have any thought as to how one might proceed to test this?

Register your group as a religion and see what happens.

If it takes the registrar and the judge several hours to stop laughing, you can take that to mean it didn’t fly!

Signature 

Question authority and think for yourself. Big Brother does not know best and never has.

Posted: 09 September 2011 07:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  15
Joined  2011-03-07

I hope it works out for you.

However I think the real step that needs to be taken is to remove all the tax perks religions get. I fail to see how these business should be treated any differently then other business.

If you wanted to take it a step further they should be shutdown and arrested for fraud. However this will never happen in my lifetime.

PS: you should claim to worship a flying spagetti monster. This will probably help your chance smile

Posted: 19 September 2011 09:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
RankRankRank