Cognitive Computer Chips
Posted: 20 September 2011 04:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 166 ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6175
Joined  2009-02-26
traveler - 20 September 2011 03:44 PM
Write4U - 20 September 2011 03:34 PM

I am not a programmer at all, so please forgive,

Why is it difficult for a computer to recognize shapes? Why can we not program symbols as we do in humans when we “learn” the shape of a circle?

In a “clean” environment, it is not difficult to recognize a shape. The post office uses handwriting recognition software to read addresses (on a clean envelope). But in the real world, circles are on a “noisy” background and often surrounded by artifacts that make it difficult to “see” the shape.

As is obvious in the success of facial recognition software, many of these problems are being overcome. Today, it’s not really that difficult to recognize shapes via software if you know what you’re looking for.

The noise in a 2D world. So any AI which could function in a 3D world “must” be able to process data of its relationship to any environment in 3D, no?

Signature 

Art is the creation of that which evokes an emotional response, leading to thoughts of the noblest kind.
W4U

Posted: 20 September 2011 10:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 167 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  89
Joined  2011-09-20

Consciousness seems magical, but try this thought experiment: observe your own consciousness and see what are its inputs and what are its outputs. Could you theoretically write a program that has the same functionality?