3 of 8
Is ufology now a religion?
Posted: 12 October 2011 04:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 31 ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9283
Joined  2006-08-29

No, not those ones, Asanta. Just the Nazca Lines…for now.

Posted: 12 October 2011 06:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 32 ]
Total Posts:  419
Joined  2007-08-24

I am not a scientist by any means and I have learned that many of the books I have read are considered trash here.  I will refrain from sharing my opinions where I am not qualified to present.  I will continue to read and learn.  I just received Michael Shermer’s new book and I dare mention his name here.  He was someone I met at a convention and I was stunned by his presentation based on his skepticism.  He too has slapped me down for believing in certain scientific opinions.  After 911, a dozen books came out on our vulnerability and lack of preparedness and all seemed to point at the Bush Administration for being way too lax in programs like our Air Traffic control rules.  There was even a theory that V.P. Cheney had schedule some air trials on that morning which is why the Defense Jets were not aware of the situation.  I stopped reading and began to research why our government was under attack by the religious right which to me was far more dangerous than the Taliban.

I was thrown out several sites for bringing this up.  I was able to get a DVD which had been shown on the History Channel but banned from American television.  It told a remarkable story that started during the Korean war.  It told the story of how Osama Bin Ladin became the leader of the Al Qaeda movement in the middle east.  All of this was kept out of news and I felt someone should read this stuff.  If it is bullshit then sobeit.  I had always believed that the battle against Communism in America was a lie to simply promote the Christian movement and was promoted by the Christians using the popular terrorism concept of scaring the crap out of Americans.