Hello and a Question
Posted: 10 November 2011 02:53 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2011-11-10

Hello everyone!

I am a literature professor and almost life-long atheist (they sold me on the scam for a while). I have been teaching for over thirty years.

I have been asked by some students at my college to sponsor a humanist/freethinkers/atheist student group, and I gladly agreed. We are just getting started next term, after classes begin in January. I teach at a two-year college that not only has a military-school history, but which is situated in one of the most bible-thumping areas of the Bible Belt. So…my little group is made up of courageous, free-thinking students who are brave enough to follow this through.

My question: We have already been challenged by an on-campus Christian organization to a public debate. While I can guide my students through the preparation for this debate, I was wondering if anyone here could provide some additional guidance, having been in a similar situation. What arguments do Christians most offer in defense? What are the take-down moves for specific assertions. I can do this at a cocktail party, but for some reason the notion of an open debate seems to offer other challenges.

Thank you.

Posted: 10 November 2011 03:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1809
Joined  2007-10-22

Gsaye:

First welcome to the forum.  The task you have set youself rugged, hang tough.

My question: We have already been challenged by an on-campus Christian organization to a public debate. While I can guide my students through the preparation for this debate, I was wondering if anyone here could provide some additional guidance, having been in a similar situation. What arguments do Christians most offer in defense? What are the take-down moves for specific assertions. I can do this at a cocktail party, but for some reason the notion of an open debate seems to offer other challenges.