1 of 2
Volunteering with religious charities?
Posted: 06 February 2012 10:13 AM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  350
Joined  2008-12-11

Here in NYC, I used to volunteer at a soup kitchen called Christian Help in Park Slope (CHIPS). I liked it. I’m a good cook, I work well in a team, and I always left feeling fulfilled. CHIPS is run by Franciscan nuns but they aren’t back in the kitchen, where I and my fellow volunteers were. Every time I worked there, my fellow volunteers were also outwardly secular people, and we weren’t expected to mingle/dine with the people we fed, most of whom were either religious or whom I at least overheard often praising their lord. In the kitchen, I don’t remember any god talk at all.

But I’m moving to a different neighborhood, and since I haven’t found a secular soup kitchen/food pantry yet, I’m looking at religious ones again. The closest ones are run by Catholic Worker, two LGBT-friendly Episcopal churches (one of them called “Holy Apostles”), a Presbyterian church, and a Jewish student-life center. The nonprofits organizing the two best-known citywide ones are either Catholic (God’s Love We Deliver, the most famous but with high overhead costs) or Jewish (Meals on Wheels) nonprofits.

I’d much rather volunteer with a secular charitable nonprofit, but the pickings in even this big city are thin unless I find another form of work that can help my community or city without promoting religion. I’m happy to help religious people in need. I just don’t want a deity taking credit for it.

Do you volunteer with religious groups? And if you do, as you do it, are you open about your secularity?

[ Edited: 06 February 2012 10:20 AM by josh_karpf ]

Posted: 06 February 2012 10:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Total Posts:  3121
Joined  2008-04-07

I’ve done a lot of Habitat work. The god stuff never comes up with the great group of people I work with.

Signature 

Turn off Fox News - Bad News For America