1 of 2
Intrinsic Value
Posted: 15 February 2012 10:03 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2012-02-15

Hello, first post!

I’m wondering what the naturalist perspective on intrinsic value is and if a naturalist would say that human life is better than non-human life? I’m fairly new to naturalism and am trying to understand its moral propositions, of which I feel the perspective on human life as it relates to other kinds of life is a crucial distinction.

If the proposition from naturalism is that all life has equal value, then would that necessarily entail that man engages in specieism when placing a priority of humans over other life? Does naturalism even suggest intrinsic value? Or is all human value extrinsic?

Posted: 16 February 2012 05:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15395
Joined  2006-02-14
abe zydar - 15 February 2012 10:03 PM

Hello, first post!

I’m wondering what the naturalist perspective on intrinsic value is and if a naturalist would say that human life is better than non-human life? I’m fairly new to naturalism and am trying to understand its moral propositions, of which I feel the perspective on human life as it relates to other kinds of life is a crucial distinction.

If the proposition from naturalism is that all life has equal value, then would that necessarily entail that man engages in specieism when placing a priority of humans over other life? Does naturalism even suggest intrinsic value? Or is all human value extrinsic?

There is no single answer to your question, because there is no single philosophical theory, “naturalism”. There are many versions of naturalism. Some will countenance a naturalist account of value, others will say that value is non-naturalizable.