Locating freethinking students on campus?
Posted: 01 March 2012 05:24 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2012-03-01

I’ve been considering starting a freethought/humanist/atheist/secular society at my university and the main problem is that I don’t know any students who would be interested.

I’m a research student and most people I know are too busy with things such as family. It seems the trend is that societies are mainly dominated by undergraduates and I don’t know many of those. I’m also quite shy and find it hard to introduce myself to new people. I have put out an ad in the socities newsletter for anyone interested in a freethought society, but had no luck. I’d put up a poster, but we’re not allowed to put up posters at the union for societies that aren’t affiliated, and I’d need 10 members for that, and putting up posters of anything in the university building seems quite restricted too. I’m feeling a bit alone in this endevor, which is why I’ve pritty much given up or at least put my efforts on indefinent hold. Does anyone have any ideas I can try to find some people?

Posted: 01 March 2012 09:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2631
Joined  2011-04-24
java7nerd - 01 March 2012 05:24 PM

I’ve been considering starting a freethought/humanist/atheist/secular society at my university and the main problem is that I don’t know any students who would be interested.