6 of 17
Guns
Posted: 11 March 2012 05:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 76 ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3121
Joined  2008-04-07
Write4U - 11 March 2012 04:09 PM

I am no gun expert, though I do have some, but would it be practical that every firearm is fired before it enters the market and several bullets (with their own unique markings) be saved along with the gun’s serial number as well as the buyer’s name? That way the markings on a bullet involved in a crime can be compared to the data base and make it easier to trace.

I think that’s a great idea, W4U. The NRA would surely not let that happen however.  downer

Signature 

Turn off Fox News - Bad News For America
(Atheists are myth understood)

Posted: 11 March 2012 06:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 77 ]
Total Posts:  3102
Joined  2011-08-15

That’s an excellent idea but spent bullets can already be traced to the gun by ballistic testing. Each rifled weapon has a land and groove signature but the only problem here is that you have to have the gun to match the bullet. Your suggestion of a test fired bullet should work even if you don’t have the weapon. It would sure make tracing the gun easier but not necessarily the shooter. Many guns are stolen, resold often for drugs, and used for criminal activity especially handguns. That’s a major problem here as the gun laws in WV are very lax and the Detroit drug dealers come down to trade Oxy for weapons and it’s a lucrative business to say the least. The weapons are mainly auto pistols used by the drug gangs.

Cap’t Jack

Signature 

One good schoolmaster is of more use than a hundred priests.

Thomas Paine

Posted: 12 March 2012 09:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 78 ]
Total Posts:  1191
Joined  2011-08-01