Hi, I’m Jamie
Posted: 28 November 2006 03:31 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2006-11-28

Hello.  This is my first time to this site and I am enjoying it very much.

Strangely, I have had no problem "coming out" about my atheism to my family because they expected my rejection of Catholicism and religion in general.  Let’s say that they know me well.  My problem is discussing atheism with professors at my university.  It seems to be an extremely touchy subject that even philosophy and anthropology professors diplomatically dance around. 

When discussing belief systems, I don’t want to label myself in the negative light such as "I am anti-x, anti-y, or anti-z."  I’d rather turn it around into a positive.  For example, I’d rather call myself a secular humanist than an atheist.  I don’t believe in a personal god or even Spinoza’s god.  I have encountered a practical problem of trying to explain what I believe without resorting to a diatribe about what I do not believe.  In doing this, sometimes I feel as though I am set up to dance around the issue myself because of the polar nature of this subject.

Have any of you encountered any of these problems?  How have you responded?

I really appreciate your insight.

Posted: 28 November 2006 03:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Rank
Joined  2006-11-28

Hi, I’m Jamie

Hello.  This is my first time to this site and I am enjoying it very much.

Strangely, I have had no problem “coming out” about my atheism to my family because they expected my rejection of Catholicism and religion in general.  Let’s say that they know me well.  My problem is discussing atheism with professors at my university.  It seems to be an extremely touchy subject that even philosophy and anthropology professors diplomatically dance around.