6 of 36
A pragmatic discussion about free will
Posted: 13 April 2012 09:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 76 ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3121
Joined  2008-04-07
GdB - 13 April 2012 09:32 AM
traveler - 13 April 2012 07:15 AM

Yeah, I don’t see a difference between “I” and my brain. Things get a little more interesting when considering the person who takes medication for schizophrenia. “I” control “me” by making “me” not “I”.

I know you mean this funny… But you get a serious answer:

In schizophrenia some mental contents are not recognised as belonging to the patient himself. They are alien to them. So they become “voices”, “entities” that are not himself. I don’t know if antipsychotics really help against this mis-identification, or that they just tranquilize, so that is easier to cope with the voices.

As a novice in philosopher land, I do find this interesting. And it’s my understanding that the meds make the voices go away, but I have no first-hand experience. However, the same result is found in those who change themselves by taking antidepressants. The mind deciding to change the mind.

Signature 

Turn off Fox News - Bad News For America
(Atheists are myth understood)

Posted: 13 April 2012 10:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 77 ]
Total Posts:  4379
Joined  2007-08-31
VYAZMA - 13 April 2012 07:41 AM

I see in this discussion the continuing idea of dualism.  Both sides(but it appears not directly opposed sides(for the most part)) take and detract from the “dualism” concept.  This is because the idea of dualism arises from the effort of trying to understand human consciousness…trying to literate or flesh out the mechanics of consciousness!

No, no, that is not enough. Dualism arises because it seems unbelievable that matter can organise in such a way that it becomes conscious (in the form of the brain). So one makes the “soul” the conscious entity. But eh…Vyazma: are you conscious.