1 of 2
Ex Charismatic/Pentecostal…..What now?
Posted: 18 May 2012 09:47 AM   [ Ignore ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  26
Joined  2012-05-11

I am new at this so please excuse my ignorance. I have been involved in the Charismatic/Pentecostal movement since I was 13, I am now 51. How do you go about explaining your views to your family without being alienated? To me it has been so much a part of my life that I feel like I am losing something without losing something. At least I am starting to figure out the difference. The book, “The God Virus” has helped me a lot to understand how religion infects you and everything you do. Can you be a Deist and not follow any specific religion or is that still considered to be “religious?

Signature 

“Frisbeetarianism: The belief that when you die, your soul goes up on the roof and gets stuck” - George Carlin

Posted: 18 May 2012 10:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1191
Joined  2011-08-01

First of all, I am about the same age as you and was in christianity also from about the same age—so I can identify. Like you, as part of my “de-conversion” process, I explored Deism. At first, it appealed to me because it seemed to rational. And it is—except that they refuse to give up on the notion of the “prime mover” god. While not as bad as the personal deity, I eventually decided that this idea was almost as crazy. Actually, not crazy, just completely untestable, unfalsifiable, and therefore untenable.  (To me, anyway.) So I decided to take that last step and come on over to agnosticism/atheism. 

Pentecostal, huh? I just finished reading Dan Barker’s book Godless. Have you read it? He was well known in Pentecostal circles as a preacher and musician before becoming an atheist. You might find some guidance in his books.