2 of 2
gin
Posted: 05 July 2012 12:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7641
Joined  2008-04-11
Occam. - 05 June 2012 11:30 PM

In my early days I drank martinis, which, according to articles then had the highest ethanol level, the least garbage (just an olive) and a bit of acidity from the vermouth which combined to make the most potent drink.  I also read that carbonation made a drink hit faster by causing the stomach to empty quicker, i.e., scotch and soda would hit faster than scotch and water.  So, being a scientist, I made up a martini using the 4:1 ratio of gin to vermouth, measured the volume, added ice and stirred.  Then remeasured to see how much water had entered the mix.  I then mixed a quart of martini using the proper ratios of gin, vermouth and distilled water. I put it in a seltzer bottle, used the CO2 cartridge to carbonate it then put it in the freezer.  Since I couldn’t be the tester and the subject we invited two chemists and their wives to dinner, explaining the project.  One was a large guy who had been a weight lifter in college, and the other was a lush that could drink anyone under the table.  They did very well until after dinner when one went into the living room and fell asleep on the couch and the other fell asleep at his diningroom chair. 

As the lush said when I saw him at work the following Monday, “My suggestion is that you burn the recipe for those damned Oral Hand Grenades.”

Occam

That’s hilarious. I like a good gin martini ...occasionally!

Signature 

Church; where sheep congregate to worship a zombie on a stick that turns into a cracker on Sundays…

Posted: 05 July 2012 01:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Total Posts:  2584
Joined  2011-04-24

It’s funny how this thread came alive on fourth of july.

Sinners.

Signature 

Raise your glass if you’re wrong…. in all the right ways.

Posted: 05 July 2012 06:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Total Posts:  1191
Joined  2011-08-01