1 of 3
How do you respond to christian nonsense?
Posted: 29 May 2012 08:56 AM   [ Ignore ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  26
Joined  2012-05-11

Hello again. I am new at how to respond to others. I still have many religious friends and family. It seems that Facebook has become more of a place to express you religious or political views. I am the kind of person that if I find a great quote, I will usually post it. Then one of my “friends” decides to start reading something spiritual into it. No matter how many times I tell them it’s just a freakin’ quote and I had NO religious reason for using it.
I have been around this for so many years and now it just seems that they wear their religion on their sleeves. How can I reason with them without getting into a drawn out discussion? Below is a sample of what I am talking about.

Me: “When the act of reflection takes place in the mind, when we look at ourselves in the light of thought, we discover that our life is embosomed in beauty.”—Ralph Waldo Emerson, Spiritual Laws

1st response: Emerson was a philosopher of Transcendentalism, though his words sound harmless they are very dangerous because his ideas are centered around indivualism and not directed toward Jesus or Our Father who is, and always will be the one we should center our mind around

Me:  Why do we have to always bring religion in on a simple quote? Just take it at face value. Not everything has to religious. Some people would say that religion is dangerous too…