Anyone here familiar with Karl Popper work and ideas?
Posted: 12 June 2012 07:24 AM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4242
Joined  2010-08-15

I’m new to Karl Popper and my ability for following deep logic and philosophical arguments doesn’t get much beyond the WIKI level, since after a while it just starts sounding like mucho blahblah.  Still I know that’s my short coming as much as anything else.

So with that intro. 
Does anyone here, who’s familiar with Popperian logic, have an opinion or something to share regarding the following opinion a friend shared with me?

Popper has claimed that his dictum that science proceeds only by falsification is a methodological prescription, and hence not falsifiable.  That is incorrect.  That it is a methodological prescription means only that it is not falsifiable in the same way as empirical claims.  However, if we find a situation in which following Popper’s dictum will clearly lead to the wrong choice being made by scientists, we have falsified his dictum as a methodology.  In this case, the choice of scientists in the 19th century to preserve the law despite the facts was clearly correct, and vindicated in the 20th century.  Popper’s theory of scientific methodology has therefore been falsified.  It is inadequate for discussing real science, and trying to place science in a Popperian straight jacket will only impoverish it.

[ Edited: 12 June 2012 10:11 AM by citizenschallenge.pm ]
 Signature 

How many times do lies need to be exposed
before we have permission to trash them?

Posted: 12 June 2012 07:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Total Posts:  15368
Joined  2006-02-14

It’s “Karl Popper” not “Poppers” ...