Hello, Bay Area and beyond
Posted: 30 August 2012 01:58 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2012-08-30

My name is Tim and I live in Concord California. Concord is in the San Francisco Bay Area. I am a graduate of the Humanist Institute and Starr King School for the Ministry, the Unitarian-Universalist seminary. I have spent a great deal of time reading about Humanism and want to become active in the humanist community. Do you have any ideas how this can be done? I have offered to volunteer for the AHA and they suggested this organization. I would love to meet fellow humanists but, Nashville is about the last place I want to visit.
I have spent the last twenty years working for the State of California as a Clinical Social Worker. I do individual and group therapy within the State system. I also worked as a Humanist Chaplain in the Kaiser Hospice program. I am widowed and have a ten year old son with autism. I look forward to talking to folks!

Posted: 30 August 2012 02:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6046
Joined  2009-02-26

Welcome Tsheater,
Looking forward to your posts.

Signature 

Art is the creation of that which evokes an emotional response, leading to thoughts of the noblest kind.
W4U

Posted: 30 August 2012 04:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Total Posts:  776
Joined  2009-07-17

Hi Tim,

Welcome to the forums!

Take care,

Derek

Signature 

“It is noble to be good; it is still nobler to teach others to be good—and less trouble.”—Mark Twain

Posted: 30 August 2012 04:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Total Posts:  5551
Joined  2010-06-16

Hi Tim, Welcome.  You may want to go to the Center For Inquiry website and see what local groups they list.  I live in the Los Angeles area and they have a building in Hollywood where they have many meetings and groups.  A number of our members live within, say, 50 miles of the Bay Area so some of them may be able to give you some leads.

Occam

Signature