philosophy?
Posted: 30 September 2012 11:53 AM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  207
Joined  2011-09-23

Isnt philosophy a creation of our own interpretation of the world, fit to serve our thinking, and therefor unable to be objective and see the “whole picture” aren’t we asking the wrong question sometimes (or all the time)?

Posted: 30 September 2012 12:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5551
Joined  2010-06-16

As a retired physical scientist I don’t know much about philosophy, but from what I do, I’d have to answer NO.  While some who claim to be philosophers are crackpots (albeit at times brilliant ones), many do ask and examine questions that are extremely important to all of us, and come up with answers that help us consider our lives and our behavior make decisions, often much better ones. 

While we may think broadly and believe we can think universally, we are limited to our own species and neural apparatus.  We can’t think like a whale or some other species on another planet, so everything is

a creation of our own interpretation of the world

.  If you think philosophers (professional and lay) are asking the wrong question, how about you taking a crack at asking a “right” question?

I’m sure Doug can respond to this better than I have.

Occam

Signature 

Succinctness, clarity’s core.

Posted: 30 September 2012 12:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Joined  2011-09-23

The problem is i cant, I and they may be unable to do so, we may not know what would be the “right questions” because of our limitations.
Iam interested if we can overcome that problem, and widen our horizon.

Could it be possible someday to experience another individuals consciousness as we do our own, not the in and output generated by it but really be some one (or some animal) else?
I think that would dramatically change our perspective on those topics.

Posted: 30 September 2012 01:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]