4 of 12
What is Religion?/the dynamic of religion : This is not about the definition of religion but the entity itself
Posted: 10 October 2012 12:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 46 ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  28
Joined  2012-10-03

I’m sorry you feel that way. My posts weren’t meant to anger or infuriate.

I’m just a university student who is passionate about the social sciences and learning about other cultures including my own. As an Indian and a social sciences student, I discovered that what most of the social sciences textbooks say about India didn’t mesh with the actual experience of many Indians. It was during that time that I discovered Edward Said’s ‘Orientalism’, which precisely talks about this issue (of course, in his book he was talking about the middle east and arabs instead of India). I started looking for more works like this and discovered the book “The heathen in his blindness”, which builds and improves upon Edward Said’s research.

More and more people in the social sciences are gravitating towards this kind of research.

so that was what motivated these posts, i find this author’s work fascinating and wanted to share it.

[ Edited: 10 October 2012 12:27 PM by arv13 ]

Posted: 10 October 2012 03:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 47 ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6175
Joined  2009-02-26
arv13 - 10 October 2012 12:19 PM

I’m sorry you feel that way. My posts weren’t meant to anger or infuriate.