Introduction by new member and question on book announcement
Posted: 13 October 2012 01:39 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2012-10-13

Hello,

I’m new to CFI and to the forums here; have only just signed up with some CFI Meetup groups in Portland, OR, and Vancouver, WA.

Very excited about getting to meet local people, when the opportunity presents itself. After half a century I’ve finally realized that there is no debating (or arguing) with those who cannot reason or think. Have written quite a few articles in the past on this subject and related ones - all pulled because they were ineffective and merely inflammatory (I have a comic one that seems fairly entertaining at https://www.facebook.com/notes/daniel-hunt/god-claps-his-hands/107097356115808). I’m decidedly NOT an intellectual or a scientist, but when I get the gerbils up to full speed I’d like to think that I’m capable of thinking (somewhat). Have no idea where the state of affairs is currently with successes by groups such as yours in managing to counter mass ignorance, disinformation and continuing rampant superstition. Media coverage would seem to indicate we are going in the wrong direction. But I would be interested in any discussion taking place that specifically addresses my main concern of this message: how to get your point across to those whose minds are permanently closed off or unable to function on anything save an intuitive or emotional level? I burned out on this “cause” more than once, partly, I’m sure, because I was operating in isolation.

A related question involves where I should post an announcement for a book of mine that may be of interest to members?  I was going to do that here, but want to make sure I have the right forum before doing so.

Thank you!

Posted: 13 October 2012 02:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15304
Joined  2006-02-14