1 of 2
Hello, I’m generally referred to as jj
Posted: 01 December 2012 09:54 AM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  83
Joined  2012-12-01

I’ve been around the skeptical world for quite a long time, mostly because I work in the audio industry, or worked, since I’m presently retired.  I’m officially an EE, but my professional credit is in human perception, mostly auditory, but with some visual perception work as well. I do math, signal processing, and drive hifi salesmen into rage.

I’m more than mildly disgruntled with all of the factioning in the skeptica and atheist communities.

You can find out what I do beyond take photographs of national parks (as a hobby. PLEASE) by reading home.comcast.net/~retired_old_jj or go to http://www.ieeeghn.org/wiki/index.php/James_D._Johnston for the concise, professionally edited version.

I like: science, critical examination, civil rights, mathematics, people, lack of supernatural stuff
I don’t like: Nonsense, bovine waste, or 50,000 dollar speaker cables for a home stereo, religion stuffed in my face

Posted: 01 December 2012 11:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5187
Joined  2010-06-16

Welcome, JJ.  However, you may not be at all gruntled here, because we do have a wide variety of athiest, skeptic, and humanist factions among our members, many of how are only too happy to express themselves.  As I see it there’s a major difference between irrationality and nonsense.  I think purposeful nonsense can be fun, and can also be used to point out more subtle forms of natural fertilizer.

Occam

Signature 

Succinctness, clarity’s core.

Posted: 01 December 2012 01:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Total Posts:  4622
Joined  2007-10-05