3 of 4
Wil video games improve brain function?
Posted: 07 December 2012 09:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 31 ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3024
Joined  2010-04-26
Thevillageatheist - 07 December 2012 09:28 AM

Well, that’s one way of doing it! That’s kind of how the Russians did it to win the Eastern front in WW II.  grin
Practice DM! Just get out there and practice. You don’t have any eye problems do you, or a job that robs your free time cause you have to keep up with the Jonses? They have a BMW, I have to have a Caddie. Etc.etc. Then suddenly you’re the richest corpse in the cemetery. Crap, his casket looks better than mine.

No, no eye problems or anything.  I just have a terrible paucity of practice because I have nowhere to practice at.  I think my landlord would be a little upset if I started shooting ancient weaponry around my building. LOL  I suppose I could try my mom’s backyard.  Or maybe drive down to Saginaw and use one of the abandoned factories. LOL  Ah the perils of urban living.  One crossbow bolt through the wall of an old folks’ home and it’s, “You’re under arrest.  Come with me sir.  Put down the weapon sir.  Sir, don’t make me taze you.” *Bzzzzzztt!

Signature 

“In the end nature is horrific and teaches us nothing.” -Mutual of Omicron

Posted: 07 December 2012 10:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 32 ]
Total Posts:  765
Joined  2009-07-17
Thevillageatheist - 07 December 2012 09:19 AM
George - 07 December 2012 06:56 AM

3) Studies focusing on short-term effects tell us nothing about long-term effects.

3. That’s probably because we haven’t been using the technology long enough to have long term studies. We can only speculate what might happen in the near future. (see The Futurist mag.) .

And with technology constantly changing, will we ever even be able to conduct useful long term studies?

Take care,

Derek

Signature 

“It is noble to be good; it is still nobler to teach others to be good—and less trouble.”—Mark Twain