1 of 5
My CFI dilema
Posted: 20 December 2012 08:44 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2012-12-20

Hi folks.  Somewhere along the line I ended up on the CFI’s mailing list, and despite having made no “Inquiry” into this organization, I haven’t taken myself off the list because I occasionally find the articles very interesting.  But more often than not, I find the vague mission statements about pursuing science, reason and civil rights to veil an undercurrent of strongly anti-religious sentiment.  Now, I’m not a professor of science, nor a candidate for sainthood, but I do identify as a Christian, and also consider myself to be a generally rational person (you will notice my screename is followed by a question mark, lest someone here disagrees).  I like the CFI in theory.  I don’t see anything wrong with inquiry, or fighting for the rights of atheists who are persecuted in direct violation of their constitutional rights.  My understanding of skepticism is that it describes people who question established beliefs, and don’t take what they are spoonfed without a just degree of personal evaluation.  I also understood that secularism was a neutral term describing a society without religious bias of any kind.  When then, did these terms become synonymous with what I call missionary atheism…people who hold steadfastly to a core of fundamental beliefs, and tireless try to influence legislation and win people over to their way of thinking (what is that if not a religion?).  I’ve had just as many people approach me attempting to disprove my belief in God as I have trying to convert me to theistic religions, if not more so.  Every now and then I’ll get an email from the CFI about trying to free a jailed atheist.  That, I can get behind.  But then I’ll receive something announcing the news (with unrestrained glee) that more people in the USA are without religious affiliation than ever before.  I don’t mind if people are without religious affiliation, but I do resent