2 of 6
Is there true charity in the world?
Posted: 08 November 2013 11:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  45
Joined  2013-10-29
Write4U - 08 November 2013 06:20 PM
Rupert - 08 November 2013 10:28 AM

Let me be sure I understand. You’re saying that I’ve made a mistake about my true motivation, right? Does that mean that you are positing some kind of notion of an unconscious motivation?

I believe there is an entire scientific discipline that deals with this very question It is called Psychology.

There was one occasion when I studied first-year psychology, in my undergraduate years.

Could I please ask, what are your reasons for thinking that I’m mistaken in thinking that my action was motivated by a desire to reduce suffering? And what are your conjectures about what the real motivation is?

It is proper to ask ourselves what motivates our actions. Don’t forget, in your example both rationalizations are beneficial in general.

Which two rationalizations are these? And what exactly is the evidence that they are indeed rationalizations?

IMO, ultimately I do what is good for me, it is a natural law for living things, it is the natural extension of “survival instinct” and allows for the evolution of species.

Obviously given that I’m a product of many millions of years of natural selection you’d expect me to be disposed to behave in a way that’s well-calculated to enhance my prospects for passing on my genes. The statement that I do what is good for me requires more examination. For one thing, you’d want to be clear about exactly how we evaulate which outcomes are good for me.