Music and evolution
Posted: 24 February 2007 09:45 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2006-05-30

In this episode, I heard Steven Pinker state that there doesn’t seem to be any evolutionary explanation for our appreciation of music and art.  He is not the first person I have heard say this, and the statement always puzzles me.  I am not a scientist in any field, let alone evolutionary biology, and I have no evidence but I do have a hypothesis for how evolution led to our appreciation of music.  I base my hypothesis on the observation that many animals produce and respond to mating calls.  At some point, evolution designed creatures that would essentially get "turned on" by certain hearing certain sounds made by members of their species of the opposite sex.  In human beings, our desire to procreate has gotten entangled with our emotional center, hence the experience of "love."  It doesn’t seem like that great of a stretch to me to think that the part of our brain which once responded to mating calls in order to enhance a desire to procreate has evolved to respond to music emotionally.

J. D.

Posted: 24 February 2007 10:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9301
Joined  2006-08-29

Re: Music and evolution

[quote author=“jdmack”]evolution designed creatures that would essentially get “turned on” by certain hearing certain sounds made by members of their species of the opposite sex.

I guess the question is: why do both sexes, male and female, enjoy music? Who is attracting whom? OTOH, I just read recently (don’t remember where) that some species of female birds sing. The scientists are puzzled by this. Why do they sing? Aren’t they supposed to be selecting the best singer?

I still have to listen to Pinker’s interview.

Posted: 25 February 2007 06:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  52
Joined  2007-02-21