1 of 2
James and the Jesus Family Tomb Ossuaries
Posted: 20 May 2007 09:23 PM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  53
Joined  2007-05-20

Forgive me for being new, and for starting a thread about a previously discussed subject, but I didn’t see any recent debate about the Jesus Family Tomb book and the Discovery Channel documentary. 

I came to the forums because I was so disturbed by the podcast interview with holy-relic-debunker Joe Nickell.  When it came time for them to discuss the James ossuary, he used conjecture, rumor, and guesses to debunk the ossuary.  His own personal observations were that the inscriptions were on the opposite side of the ossuary’s ornate carvings.  He used this as an example to show that the claim was dubious; however, he doesn’t give any comparisons to other ossuaries, and he fails to make any scientific effort into supporting his opinion.  Or at least, not in the podcast.

I’m not a scientist or researcher.  I only know what I’ve read in the books.  Please feel free to correct me if I’m wrong about any facts.  The James Ossuary was debunked by certain scientists, everyone sighed with relief (both skeptic and Christian), and then the scientific evidence turned out wrong, but everyone had been colored by the original faulty research, and the new evidence has been virtually ignored.  That’s really disappointing to me because the James ossuary leads us into the Jesus Family Tomb ossuaries, which deserve to be examined based solely on the scientific evidence.

The circumstantial evidence for this tomb looked at individually is kind of kooky, but all added up it becomes compelling and worthy of attention.  That being the case, I think I should start with what I think are incontrovertible facts.

-A tomb was uncovered in 1980 in Talpiot (between Nazareth and Jerusalem) Israel that contained several bone coffins called ossuaries.  Ossuaries are unique because they can easily be dated to the time of Jesus (with minor exceptions).