2 of 7
“Facts Only”
Posted: 25 August 2007 09:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5508
Joined  2006-10-22

I have no knowledge of the astronomical situation you mention so I’ll leave that for others.  However, you strongly misstated the basic tenet of Darwinian Evolution.  Rather, it is that random mutations occur.  Many have little effect on the organism’s ability to function and survive.  Many are damaging so those organisms tend to die out because they can’t function as well in the environment.  Occasionally a mutation occurs which gives the organism an advantage that the others of its species don’t have it is more likely to survive and procreate.  Over time, this particular mutation becomes distributed throughout the species.  Since we are dealing with over a hundred billion days and probably millions of trillions of organisms over that time, the probability of positive mutations becomes very high.  Of course, there were many more negative mutations, but they didn’t get passed on unless they were minor, or if they were recessive so showed up only when two of them occurred in one individual.

This is only a simple explanation.  There are also cases where a change in the environment makes a formerly neutral mutation positive, or where a series of mutations over millions of years function together to benefit the individual more than the mere sum of them would predict.

Occam

Posted: 25 August 2007 11:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
RankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  142
Joined  2007-07-28
Occam - 25 August 2007 09:22 PM