Hi from ‘the old world’
Posted: 01 September 2007 10:16 AM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4538
Joined  2007-08-31

Hi all,

Yesterday I signed in for this forum, and now I already I am not sure where I found the link to CFI. I think it was CSI…

I studied Philosophy with subsidiary subject Physics in the Netherlands. Since I need some money to live, I learned a little bit databases too, now working as system administrator and programmer in Switzerland. I am married, have two boys (and two old dogs…).

My main interests still are Philosophy and Physics, but also Astronomy and Religion. My main daily discussion topics are trying to be understood by people who think they need to believe in some form of higher powers, and stubborn scientists, who think that what is true is always valuable, (they seem to adhere to theadagium ‘everything that is possible should be done’. ), without taking responsibility , and those who think what they know can immediately know everything about everybody and the whole universe, because some scientific hypothesis might be correct.

If I need a label, I call myself a ‘religious materialist’: my world view is physicalist, but I am convinced that we as humans need more than truth only. So I also practice Buddhist meditation (with an intensity of about one retreat a year).

I hope I can have a few interesting discussions here.

For those who took the initiative for this forum: thanks! I’ve read already a lot of interesting topics!

Gert

Signature 

GdB

“The light is on, but there is nobody at home”

Posted: 01 September 2007 12:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Total Posts:  15395
Joined  2006-02-14

Glad to have you here, Gert. It’s been a long while since I visited Switzerland, but it’s a beautiful country. Enjoy the discussions!

Signature 

Doug

-:- -:—:- -:—:- -:—:- -:—:- -:—:-

El sueño de la razón produce monstruos

Posted: 01 September 2007 12:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]