2 of 2
Weird Relativism
Posted: 04 October 2007 11:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4096
Joined  2006-11-28

Social sciences can discover truths about human institutions and behaviors. I think those truths are often les reliable than those from the physical sciences, because of les reliable data sources (e.g. verbal report or questionaires, etc), more entrenched biases to overcome for the researchers, and the rapid pace of change in many of the instituions studied, but yes I accept there are real facts about how people act that the scientific method can uncover.

I certainly believe this is true of the physical sciences, though not always as true as lay people assume (as a doctor, I often have to explain to my clients why understanding the complexities of a living organism isn’t as mathematically simple and straightforward as they imagine from TV).

I think they are related in that social sciences use many of the same methods as other branches of science.

Signature 

The SkeptVet Blog
You cannot reason a person out of a position he did not reason himself into in the first place. 
Johnathan Swift

Posted: 05 October 2007 08:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Total Posts:  1214
Joined  2007-09-21

Social sciences can discover truths about human institutions and behaviors.

Then, we agree about that.  In that case, I think that we may disagree about far less than I initially thought in Vanessa’s Introductory thread.