1 of 17
Calvin Chatlos’ Human Faith model, with my expansions
Posted: 25 January 2008 01:48 PM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2011
Joined  2007-08-09

What the hell, let’s try this.

With the ongoing discussion regarding “moral facts” and the foundations of ethics, maybe I can make a go of discussing the model I’ve lived with for more than eleven years now. I learned it from Calvin Chatlos, who has quite a few Humanist credentials and is also a practicing psychiatrist by trade - specializing in treatment of addictions as I understand it. His model is by far the best thing I’ve seen of this kind, and is in fact that only system I’ve seen that I can honestly call firmly grounded and systematic. So I’m inviting discussion of it. I propose to take it step by step. I won’t differentiate between his original model and my expansions on it, so in effect you’ll be getting my expanded version. You can read his article at http://www.humanismtoday.org/vol13/chatlos.html.

The model is based on distinctions. The first set of distinctions defines what a human being is, in ontological terms that we can work with. I hope that statement won’t prompt endless arguments over other questions regarding the nature of being human. This is intended as a functional model.

The first set of distinctions are what Calvin calls the domains of being: thought, emotion and action. (We could also include sensation, but that doesn’t get us very far with ethics, and it isn’t necessary to the purposes of the model. I have included sensation in my expansion on the model, but sparingly.) These domains correspond very roughly to areas of the brain: the brainstem and cerebellum (action), the midbrain, limbic system and hypothalamus (emotion) and the cerebral cortex (thought).