Scientific or not, good idea or not?
Posted: 02 March 2008 08:06 AM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  74
Joined  2008-03-01

I’m not a scientist so please be gentle and bare with me.

I have been studying NLP (Neuro Linguistic Programming) and I have recently found a newer system that I have found very helpfull indeed, it comes with allot of spritual baggage and unproven, unscientific theory. That aside as far as I can see it is powerful psychology. It is a blend between something called “clean Language Therapy” practiced by a man called David Grove and traditional NLP.

I have to say it has been so effective with me I’m inlcined to take it seriously minus the spirituality and psuedo science of course. If it is merely a placebo effect then it is a jolly good one.

Basically it involves first loading all of your issues and problems on to a large sheet of paper then looking for where, who or what they came from then neutral questions are used to explore that issue from as many different angles as possible. The questions are as nuetral as can be so as not to contaminate the process. This process would be done over a weekrend or preferably seven days.

The theory behind it goes…..

As children we have experiences or traumas that cause us to develop subconscious reactionary coping mechanisms, survival techniques, ways of seeking attention or comfort and avoiding pain and discomfort. These ill thoughtout mechanisms cause problems (symptoms) of their own and because they are subconscious we do not realise this and to rectify it we subconsciously add another coping mechanism to deal with the sideffects of the first.