Skeptical Activism on my campus
Posted: 14 September 2008 02:36 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2008-07-09

I am a college student and I want to try to promote skepticism at my school here in Iowa (I go to Iowa State University). I have noticed that it seems like there isn’t much skeptical activity here in the Midwest. So I was wondering: What ideas do people have for what I could do?

My university has an atheist and agnostic society but we do not have a skeptical society.  I don’t know if I should try to get the atheist and agnostic society to do some skeptical activism or if I should try to start a skeptical group.

There is a small skeptical society in my area but they do not seem to want to be that big. It seems more like a get together for skeptics, and it isn’t associated with the University.

Thanks for any suggestions,
Zach

Posted: 14 September 2008 02:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15405
Joined  2006-02-14

Hi Zach,

A good place to start would be by getting in touch with Debbie Goddard. You can PM her through the forum (username DebGod) or telephone her. FYI her info can be found in THIS recent thread.

All the best to you!

Signature 

Doug

-:- -:—:- -:—:- -:—:- -:—:- -:—:-

El sueño de la razón produce monstruos

Posted: 29 October 2008 10:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Total Posts:  418
Joined  2007-07-19

Hi Zach,

Sorry for the belated post.  I am a recent ISU Alum, less than an hour from Ames, and I would be more than willing to help in any way I can.  If you have the motivation to get a group together I am sure you can stand on the shoulders of the other CFI campus groups.  Iowa could definately use this kind of outreach.

Scott

Signature 

“It is the tension between creativity and skepticism that has produced the stunning and unexpected findings of science.” ~ Carl Sagan

Posted: 29 October 2008 10:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Total Posts:  15405