2 of 2
Sonic Toothbrush
Posted: 22 December 2008 12:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1805
Joined  2005-07-20

Hey Jules, I am no medical doctor.  Do take your dentist’s word over mine in regards to medical issues.  However, I am an electrical engineer, so do take my word over your dentist’s on electrical issues. 

Sonic just refers to sound.  Ultrasonic is a technical term that refers to sound with a frequency beyond human hearing (beyond about 20KHz).  There is a big difference between technical terminologies and marketing.  When the engineers refer to ultrasound (it has been used it cameras to sense the range of the subject of the photo and focus the camera) they just mean sensors and emitters of a particular type, nothing very special.  When marketers try to convince you to buy a product, they try to use the romance spectacle and glamor in a word’s connotations. When marketers (mis)use the technical terms, then they distort terms like digital, sonic, power amplifier, high-fidelity, stereo, radio, etc. into some romantic facsimile of their former self.  Some sound romantically futuristic powerful and hi-tech, others sound romatically warmly quaintly nostalgic, and there are other romantic connotations.  When I talked about the electo-mechanism that I am 90% certain is behind the “sonic” toothbrushes, I was just trying to warn people to beware of the marketing hyperbole and not to get too swept away by it.