1 of 2
Medical Doctors who believe in God?
Posted: 09 April 2009 02:20 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2009-04-09

First time poster here. I know that there are a lot of smaty-pants on this forum, so, I’m asking in advance for some leeway regarding gramar and the like.
To introduce myself, I’ll say that I am just an average Wal-mart shopping mom. I have a degree in Fine Art, not that I imagine anyone would really care!  I am happily married to a philosopher (who posts here under the name Pragmatist, or something like that, I think)

We have a couple of kids, one of which was recently diagnosed with epilepsy. After several months of trying different antiepileptic drugs, it has been confirmed that her condition is intractable, so, our next step to get her life back, is a two-phase neurosurgery, which will happend two weeks from now.

The reason that I have wanted to join this forum is because I am perplexed about the people who believe in God, even though they themselves have experienced an unfortunate diagnosis.

Since our daughter was diagnosed I have scoured the internet for information, and have gotten a crash coarse in epilepsy. I have made contact with many kind and helpful parent’s on various forums. And inevitabley, the common denominator among all of the well-meaning parent’s has been an expression in the belief in a God.  Typically, a reply to a forum question that I have posted will involve the sentiment that they are praying for our daughter. How can I be annoyed or bothered about that? They are just trying to be nice.

It just confuses me more than anything. How can people believe that God hears their prayers and has the power to do something about it and still seek out the best doctors? How do they reason in their mind, the one’s who don’t have cures? Do they think God didn’t like them as much as the ones who were cured? What kind of a mean-spirited God do they pray to?