20 of 38
What are you reading?
Posted: 06 March 2012 12:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 286 ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  33
Joined  2012-02-18

I am a student of history, most interested in the origins of Christianity.

Posted: 06 March 2012 12:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 287 ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3121
Joined  2008-04-07
Savagemalloy - 06 March 2012 12:20 PM

That’s interesting. Do you see the Bible as an accurate history? It seems that a true history of Christianity would come from other sources.

Signature 

Turn off Fox News - Bad News For America
(Atheists are myth understood)

Posted: 06 March 2012 01:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 288 ]
Total Posts:  2886
Joined  2011-08-15

Read anything by Crossan and the Jesus Society.

Cap’t Jack

Signature 

One good schoolmaster is of more use than a hundred priests.

Thomas Paine

Posted: 06 March 2012 02:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 289 ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  33
Joined  2012-02-18

The short answer is no, the bible is not historically accurate. There is plenty of information for the historian to gleen though. Mostly, about the time they were written.

My thinking now parallels this surprisingly good textbook I’m reading. that Oral tradition from Judea was converted into written Greek and interpreted to best fit the contemporary culture and geography.

The more I study the more amazed I am that religious belief can grip so many people.

Posted: 07 March 2012 10:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 290 ]
Total Posts:  1741
Joined  2007-10-22
Savagemalloy - 06 March 2012 02:00 PM

The short answer is no, the bible is not historically accurate. There is plenty of information for the historian to gleen though. Mostly, about the time they were written.

My thinking now parallels this surprisingly good textbook I’m reading. that Oral tradition from Judea was converted into written Greek and interpreted to best fit the contemporary culture and geography.