Jimmie Keyes
Posted: 22 April 2006 01:56 PM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  363
Joined  2006-02-23

[size=18:e13ba44c8e][color=blue:e13ba44c8e] I came to humanism late in life. Born in 1935, I was given a catholic education beginning with grade school, back then 8 grades, taught by the Daughters of Charity, an order of nuns associated with the Vincentian order of priests who were in charge of our parish. I was a small well built very good looking boy who of course was slated by the nuns to become a priest. When that didn’t happen (How is a whole ‘nother story) I went on to a boys academy run by the Benedictine order, monks pledged to observance of the Benedictine rule. From there it was on to to Notre Dame where I was enrolled in all of the theology courses available to an undergraduate in an advanced curriculum. I attended my first public school of any kind when I transferred to the University of Illinois to attend law school.

I graduated from the state university in the 60’s, married, passed the bar and went to work -

MY TRANSFORMATION
The next few paragraphs are interesting to theologians and catholic apostates - I’ve tried to make them understandable to all. They relate how I applied reason to theological dogma, it is here because it may be interesting to some. I do know as much about Roman Catholic religion as most priests and probably more than many.
My first doubts were caused by the mystery of the hypostatic union, the notion that god and matter could be joined in a single man’s body. We had been taught at Notre Dame that every principle of faith had to meet the test of reason. We learned a mystery of faith such as the hypostatic union had to be possible, though we mortals did not have to understand how. Tenet’s of Faith could not be impossible, a rock too large for god to lift, oxymorons.