WITHTEETHS Intro, Hi everyone!
Posted: 29 April 2006 05:31 AM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  51
Joined  2006-04-28

Hello everyone, my actual name is Stephen, I am a student residing in Michigan, and stumbled upon this site last night. I downloaded 4 of the podcasts and listened to them all day, great stuff.

I am a secular humanist, an atheist. Why is that a taboo? And why does my grandmother think its immoral?  :shock:  I know I have morals, but they don’t come from the fear of a god who might smite, they come from within, they come from empathy and guilt. and through theses, they make compassion possible, thus leading to utilitarianism. There is no god, I am a example, I am responsible.

I even think most people are generally good, we just have contradicting viewpoints, and very limited knowledge(ignorance). A sign that we are good i believe is that we try to justify everything we do.

When did i become an atheist? I took a philosophy class, and thought about it, after long debate, i thought i would become an agnostic, then i thought about it for awhile, now I’m an atheist. There is no empirical evidence for the existence of god, its a matter of faith. ... faith, a word so magical at one time in my life. Faith is an excuse, and once you buy into it, you willingly are jumping into an abyss of unreason.

I’m fascinated by the intelligent design debates. well actually dumbfounded. How can these "moral" people keep shoving dishonest unproved unscientific statements to the table in order to confuse people, and win people over to think that ID is true. The Entropy, 2ndlaw of Thermodynamics,  the DNA mutation of new genetic code and many other are a few examples of the petty nature to scrap believers into their belief for the extra support they need in order to make themselves feel better.

I’m looking forward to debating, discussing and sharing with all of you.

with love-
WITHTEETH

Signature 

Know Thyself