David Gerrold on Faith and Secularism
Posted: 08 June 2006 08:26 AM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  402
Joined  2003-09-24

[b:b1723e79a5]Belief and Knowledge and the US Constitution[/b:b1723e79a5]
David Gerrold

When I studied zen—and I studied it for the better part of a decade, with occasional return trips the following decade, one of the points made was "faith is conviction without evidence, science is evidence without conviction." In fact, one of the courses I took spent one full day on the difference between belief and knowledge.

Belief is the adult version of "magical thinking." Faith isn’t that far removed from wishing. Knowledge, on the other hand, is derived from looking at what’s so.

Faith is an internal knowledge, it’s a subjective experience. As such, it’s stronger than knowledge, which remains external. Knowledge, however, can be measured, tested, repeated, verified, and agreed-upon by others.

Here’s another way to look at it. I can believe that the big blue bus will stop before it hits me. That’s belief. But the bus going ka-thump and rolling on another ten feet—that’s knowledge, that’s evidence, that’s fact.

Most folks can get this. It’s not rocket science. But where things get confused is when folks confuse belief and knowledge, as in: "I believe in the facts." No, dammit, no. That’s turning knowledge into belief—and in the words of one particularly aggressive instructor, "Don’t believe in the facts. Use them, but don’t believe in them. When you believe in the facts, you turn them into the same bullshit as all your other beliefs."

Why?