Hello from Wisconsin
Posted: 14 July 2006 06:45 PM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  187
Joined  2006-07-14

Hi everyone,

I’m a commercial artist (e.g. in an attempt to direct attention and influence behavior, I manufacture illusions that exploit subconscious mechanisms of human perception and cognition )

I was raised a Catholic, but born an insatiably inquiring skeptic. And being an artist is the most fun way I know of inquiring about the world. It’s also good because while I find that I’m pretty good at asking questions, I’m not so good at answering them . . . and that (IMHO) is the essence of good art: the presentation of an interesting question.

I have designed a bit of performance art that I would like you to perform. Here it is:

Take a look at a large printed word, such as a title on a book, and hold the word so that you can read it clearly in it’s normal upright position. Without blurring your vision, try to look at the word without reading it. See just the shapes of the letters without the meaning, or the phonic, just the shapes completely devoid of symbols.

That’s it. If you feel that you are actually able to look at a word you can read without reading it, please send me a message to let me know what the experience was like for you.

Posted: 14 July 2006 06:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Joined  2006-07-14

Hello from Wisconsin

Hi everyone,

I’m a commercial artist (e.g. in an attempt to direct attention and influence behavior, I manufacture illusions that exploit subconscious mechanisms of human perception and cognition )

I was raised a Catholic, but born an insatiably inquiring skeptic. And being an artist is the most fun way I know of inquiring about the world. It’s also good because while I find that I’m pretty good at asking questions, I’m not so good at answering them . . . and that (IMHO) is the essence of good art: the presentation of an interesting question.