Amy-Jill Levine - Who Was Jesus of Nazareth?
Posted: 09 September 2006 11:19 AM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  89
Joined  2006-09-08

I listened to the podcast twice and have more questions!

My initial impression was that Dr. Levine is a believer, but it is not clear whether she believes in Judaism or Catholicism.

I browsed the CSER web page and could not find many answers.

Can a believer really be impartial in the "scientific" study of Religion? (The logical extension of the question is can an atheist/agnostic do the same?)

After listening to Dr. Straus (Medicine podcast) I had to associate both productions, caring for others within a religious/cultural framework. As anybody can infer from my Forum name, I am a Physician. Everyday I hear from my patients religious comments, usually I go along with the comments, but many times I am internally conflicted as an agnostic!

Posted: 10 September 2006 10:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15356
Joined  2006-02-14

Re: Amy-Jill Levine - Who Was Jesus of Nazareth?

[quote author=“OhioDoc”]My initial impression was that Dr. Levine is a believer, but it is not clear whether she believes in Judaism or Catholicism.

I’m not 100% sure either, but she does say she’s Jewish on the podcast. Of course, for some people that’s a religious designation, and for others it’s more of a cultural designation. (And some self-described Jews are even atheist). I don’t think she’s Christian.

[quote author=“OhioDoc”]Can a believer really be impartial in the “scientific” study of Religion? (The logical extension of the question is can an atheist/agnostic do the same?)

I think the easy answer to this question is “Yes”. Of course, I’m not saying every believer or non-believer can be, but certainly there are honest, careful thinkers who are willing to follow where the evidence leads.