2 of 2
Why Facts Fail - Brendan Nyhan
Posted: 23 December 2010 09:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  92
Joined  2010-12-23

I’m just a newbie here (and an always suspect Kanuck at that) but I’m confused at how we got from the well-known phenomenon of cognitive dissonance (which is inherently interesting ) to polarized politics in a city second. Am I missing something?

The former occurs in many situations in life, the latter appears in the U.S. and has to do with how people from a two-party system stereotype those not of their political stripe.

Hmmm.

Pelagic

Signature 

Mihi, quanto plura recentium seu veterum revolvo, tanto magis ludibria rerum mortalium cunctis in negotiis observantur - Tacitus

” I knew that!” - me

Posted: 23 December 2010 11:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6167
Joined  2009-02-26
pelagic - 23 December 2010 09:04 PM

I’m just a newbie here (and an always suspect Kanuck at that) but I’m confused at how we got from the well-known phenomenon of cognitive dissonance (which is inherently interesting ) to polarized politics in a city second. Am I missing something?

The former occurs in many situations in life, the latter appears in the U.S. and has to do with how people from a two-party system stereotype those not of their political stripe.

Hmmm.

Pelagic

Perhaps cognitive dissonance might be found in the different interpretations by the ruling parties in the US, on what is good for a country (or a city).
In the US, the Republicans traditionally “were” the party on the economic side of our social/economic system. The Democrats traditionally are more socially progressive.
Thus there can be a socio/economic problem in a nation and each political side views this problem from a different perspective.

[ Edited: 23 December 2010 11:13 PM by Write4U ]
 Signature 

Art is the creation of that which evokes an emotional response, leading to thoughts of the noblest kind.
W4U