Is there a forum post manual?
Posted: 21 December 2010 10:45 AM   [ Ignore ]
Sr. Member
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  514
Joined  2010-11-21

I’ve been struggling hard to figure out how to take an uploaded attachment and present it into a post. I had a picture from my computer that I uploaded to as an attachment because the copy/paste does not work for <img> on your home computer. It’s made for URL addresses. I even went to the site that makes this program (Expression Engine) but there was no manual for the user and nothing, ironically, so much as a mention of a post anywhere! Many forums have these programs but none tell you how to use them. Is this supposed to be common knowledge in the Universe? Can you help me, and others who may have the same question? Thanks.

 Signature 

I eat without fear of certain Death from The Tree of Knowledge because with wisdom, we may one day break free from its mortal curse.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 December 2010 11:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15355
Joined  2006-02-14

I’ll check, though I don’t know one myself.  The program does allow you to upload images into your posts if you like, through the “Post Reply” button.

 Signature 

Doug

-:- -:—:- -:—:- -:—:- -:—:- -:—:-

El sueño de la razón produce monstruos

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 December 2010 12:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Sr. Member
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  514
Joined  2010-11-21

I’ve only used “post reply” for all my posts. The option for using images is “img”, but it only allows upload from a URL. So I first upload it as an attachment, which is no problem. But then what? I need either to have a link to the attachment in my post or to be able to copy from the uploaded attachment to allow others to see it. For example, I have just uploaded a 67KB image (limit is 75KB) within the proper dimensions as an attachment on this post. But there is no way for you to know that.

EDIT: Well, I’ll be… the preview wasn’t showing anything! So I assumed it wasn’t working. Thanks for your help Doug. I’ll be on my way…

[ Edited: 21 December 2010 12:24 PM by Scott Mayers ]
Image Attachments
winamp1.jpg
 Signature 

I eat without fear of certain Death from The Tree of Knowledge because with wisdom, we may one day break free from its mortal curse.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 12:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Jr. Member
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2012-10-22

Another forum-manual query. How can I “Quote” only a part of another’s post? I’ve tried it with Post as New Reply>Topic Title>Message>Quote and then reducing the text that appears if it is very long. My reply goes through but the Quote extract appears with no distincion; it looks like part of my own message.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 04:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15355
Joined  2006-02-14
LeRoy34 - 24 October 2012 12:45 AM

Another forum-manual query. How can I “Quote” only a part of another’s post? I’ve tried it with Post as New Reply>Topic Title>Message>Quote and then reducing the text that appears if it is very long. My reply goes through but the Quote extract appears with no distincion; it looks like part of my own message.

Not sure what you are asking; to quote part of what someone wrote, hit “Quote” and delete the extraneous material.

 Signature 

Doug

-:- -:—:- -:—:- -:—:- -:—:- -:—:-

El sueño de la razón produce monstruos

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 09:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Moderator
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5551
Joined  2010-06-16

Or another way is to block off what you want to quote, hit control-C to copy it, click on the reply bar to get your blank field for posting, then type {quote} (using square brackets) hit control-V to enter what you copied, then type {/quote} (again with square brackets).

You can go back to the post where you tried to quote me, hit edit then bracket my statement with {quote}{/quote}.

Occam

 Signature 

Succinctness, clarity’s core.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 April 2013 08:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Sr. Member
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2602
Joined  2012-10-27
Occam. - 24 October 2012 09:30 AM

Or another way is to block off what you want to quote, hit control-C to copy it, click on the reply bar to get your blank field for posting, then type {quote} (using square brackets) hit control-V to enter what you copied, then type {/quote} (again with square brackets).

You can go back to the post where you tried to quote me, hit edit then bracket my statement with {quote}{/quote}.

Occam

That seems incredibly complicated. I can respond within a post on other groups without doing and remembering,  all that.  All I have to do is place my response into the quoted field, and it comes out right. But on this group, it comes out as if my response part of the original quote.

This is so annoying I have stopped trying to respond within the quoted material on CFI even though that potentially makes it harder for others to decipher.

Lois

[ Edited: 30 April 2013 08:23 PM by Lois ]
Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 May 2013 05:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Moderator
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5551
Joined  2010-06-16

The problem is that describing the way to do it very precisely and clearly makes it sound quite complicated.  I’ll try again.

Rather than hitting “fast reply” or “post reply”, click on “quote”.  Now you have a reply box with the entire post you wanted to discuss.  Then go in and block off each thing you don’t want to bother with and hit cntrl-x to get rid of it.  It takes only a few seconds when you’re down to only the cogent stuff.  Then, you go to the bottom (beyond the {/quote}) and make your comments.

Does that make more sense, Lois?

If there are two things you want to respond to separately, go to the end of the first and type {/quote}.  Then type your comments in.  Next, type at the end of your comment, {quote}.  I know it sounds counter-intuitive, but try it, it works.

Occam

 Signature 

Succinctness, clarity’s core.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 May 2013 08:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Sr. Member
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2602
Joined  2012-10-27
Occam. - 01 May 2013 05:00 PM

The problem is that describing the way to do it very precisely and clearly makes it sound quite complicated.  I’ll try again.

Rather than hitting “fast reply” or “post reply”, click on “quote”.  Now you have a reply box with the entire post you wanted to discuss.  Then go in and block off each thing you don’t want to bother with and hit cntrl-x to get rid of it.  It takes only a few seconds when you’re down to only the cogent stuff.  Then, you go to the bottom (beyond the {/quote}) and make your comments.

Does that make more sense, Lois?

If there are two things you want to respond to separately, go to the end of the first and type {/quote}.  Then type your comments in.  Next, type at the end of your comment, {quote}.  I know it sounds counter-intuitive, but try it, it works.

Occam

I tried that in a respose to Capt’n Jack today.  I diligently put in the quote thing, open square bracket, forward slash,quote,close square bracket. (I write it this way because otherwise it will disappear upon posting).  When my response was posted, all of my quote things were gone and Jack’s quotes and my responses all came out together in the white field.

If I want to place more than one response within the original post, it is impossible to distinguish between the original material and the response.


Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 May 2013 08:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Sr. Member
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2602
Joined  2012-10-27

To prove my point i pasted the quote thing three times at the end of my previous post, #8.


I am placing three more here: 

 

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 May 2013 01:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Sr. Member
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4455
Joined  2007-08-31
Lois - 01 May 2013 08:17 PM

To prove my point i pasted the quote thing three times at the end of my previous post, #8.

I am placing three more here:   [/quote]   [/quote]   [/quote][/quote] 

(I put your test between <code> tags)

These all mean ‘end of a quotation’. That makes no sense.

Your ‘raw’, unposted message, should look like this in the message editor:

[quote]Between quotations[/quote] 

This will show like:

Between quotations

And if you use the response button, as Occam described, you get the author and the time in of the posting you are quoting:

Clark Kent - 20 February 1972 12:11 PM

Greetings, CK

Yes, time jumps are no problem for Superman…

 Signature 

GdB

“The light is on, but there is nobody at home”

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 May 2013 08:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Moderator
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5551
Joined  2010-06-16

The problem, Lois, is that at the end of C.J.s post that you quoted there was a {/quote}  You have to start typing after that or you get included in his quotation.  Then, after you are finished with your comments, you want to start his post again so you write {quote}  NOT {/quote}.  Hang in there, and use the edit box to see which symbols cause what.

Occam

 Signature 

Succinctness, clarity’s core.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 May 2013 12:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Sr. Member
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2602
Joined  2012-10-27
Occam. - 02 May 2013 08:17 PM

The problem, Lois, is that at the end of C.J.s post that you quoted there was a {/quote}  You have to start typing after that or you get included in his quotation.  Then, after you are finished with your comments, you want to start his post again so you write {quote}  NOT {/quote}.  Hang in there, and use the edit box to see which symbols cause what.

Occam

I’ve tried that.  It doesn’t seem to work either.  I’ll just mudde along with making my comments at the end of a post.  Thanks for your help.  Maybe it’s me, but I can’t get it to work.  Maybe it’s a satanic or godly spell just on me!

Lois

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 May 2013 07:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Sr. Member
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4455
Joined  2007-08-31

Hi Lois,

Just look how the message is build up.

You start with the ‘begin quote symbol’, and when you use the ‘quote’ button under the posting you want to react on:

[quote author="Lois" date="1367479070"]To prove my point i pasted the quote thing three times at the end of my previous post#8.[/quote]

Always end with the 'end quote symbol' as you see abovethen you write your own text, and then you can follow with another 'begin quote symbol':

[quote author="Lois" date="1367623824"]I've tried that.  It doesn't seem to work either.  I will just mudde along with making my comments at the end of a  post.  
Thanks for your help.  Maybe it is mebut I cannot get it to work.  Maybe it is a satanic or godly spell just on me[/quote]

Which then also ends with the 
'end quote symbol', and you can write more of your own text.

Or 
you use just the quote button of the editor (between <img> and 'code'). Select the text in your editor you want to quote, and press the 'quote' button
An 'anonymous begin quote symbol' will be placed at the beginning, and an 'end quote symbol' at the end:

[quote]I diligently put in the quote thingopen square bracketforward slash,quote,close square bracket.[/quote] 

You should see something like the above in the editor (but no colours), and if you did, it looks like this:

 

Lois - 01 May 2013 08:17 PM

To prove my point i pasted the quote thing three times at the end of my previous post, #8.

Always end with the ‘end quote symbol’ as you see above, then you write your own text, and then you can follow with another ‘begin quote symbol’:

Lois - 03 May 2013 12:30 PM

I’ve tried that.  It doesn’t seem to work either.  I will just mudde along with making my comments at the end of a post. 
Thanks for your help.  Maybe it is me, but I cannot get it to work.  Maybe it is a satanic or godly spell just on me!

Which then also ends with the ‘end quote symbol’, and you can write more of your own text.

Or you use just the quote button of the editor (between <img> and ‘code’). Select the text in your editor you want to quote, and press the ‘quote’ button. An ‘anonymous begin quote symbol’ will be placed at the beginning, and an ‘end quote symbol’ at the end:

I diligently put in the quote thing, open square bracket, forward slash,quote,close square bracket.

 Signature 

GdB

“The light is on, but there is nobody at home”

Profile