Book recommendations for a young skeptic?
Posted: 10 January 2011 04:30 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2011-01-10

Hello everyone,

I am a college student and have recently become an atheist (I guess I don’t believe that there is no God… I just lack a belief that there is one.) after being raised in an strongly evangelical Christian home. I’m looking for material to read. Does anyone have suggestion for good books about religion, reason, atheism, etc?

Thank you!

Posted: 10 January 2011 05:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1071
Joined  2007-06-20

Carl Sagan’s A Demon Haunted World.

Anything by James Randi or Michael Shermer.

Signature 

There are more instances of the abridgement of the freedom of the people by the gradual and silent encroachment of those in power, than by violent and sudden usurpation.

—James Madison

Posted: 10 January 2011 05:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Total Posts:  775
Joined  2009-07-17
Rocinante - 10 January 2011 05:07 PM

Carl Sagan’s A Demon Haunted World.

Anything by James Randi or Michael Shermer.

+ 1

Take care,

Derek

Signature 

“It is noble to be good; it is still nobler to teach others to be good—and less trouble.”—Mark Twain

Posted: 10 January 2011 07:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Total Posts:  7540
Joined  2007-03-02

Besides those two, I also recommend Robert Price’s Reason Driven Life, Marlene Winell’s Leaving the Fold (check the author, because there are two books by that name), Valerie Tarico’s Trusting Doubt, and Darrel Ray’s The God Virus.  All very good books, IMO.

Signature 

Mriana
“Sometimes in order to see the light, you have to risk the dark.” ~ Iris Hineman (Lois Smith) The Minority Report

Posted: 10 January 2011 08:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  66
Joined  2011-01-01